Lone Star Region logo 100x100

Lone Star Region Volleyball Referee Exam

USAV logo

Lone Star Region Volleyball Referee Exam

For the purpose of this test use the following information:

R = RECEIVING TEAM S = SERVING TEAM
R1 = RIGHT BACK S1 = RIGHT BACK
R2 = RIGHT FRONT S2 = RIGHT FRONT
R3 = CENTER FRONT S3 = CENTER FRONT
R4 = LEFT FRONT S4 = LEFT FRONT
R5 = LEFT BACK S5 = LEFT BACK
R6 = CENTER BACK S6 = CENTER BACK

 

For the purpose of this test use the following information:

R = RECEIVING TEAM S = SERVING TEAM
R1 = RIGHT BACK S1 = RIGHT BACK
R2 = RIGHT FRONT S2 = RIGHT FRONT
R3 = CENTER FRONT S3 = CENTER FRONT
R4 = LEFT FRONT S4 = LEFT FRONT
R5 = LEFT BACK S5 = LEFT BACK
R6 = CENTER BACK S6 = CENTER BACK

 

/50

USA Volleyball REFEREE EXAM – Form A

Exam Instructions and Information: Read each question thoroughly and answer each question on the attached answer sheet using current USA Volleyball Domestic Competition Regulations. “Team S” refers to the serving team, and “Team R” refers to the receiving team. When a team’s serve or receive status is not relevant to the question, “Team A” or “Team B” is used to differentiate the teams.
The following assumptions and information pertain to each question unless other conditions are specifically noted:

  • USAV clarification boxes take precedence over the corresponding FIVB rule and if applicable, should be used when considering each answer.
  • USAV test rules on illegal player on court is in effect.
  • Rule 10.1.2 (“Pursuit Rule”) is in effect.
  • Do not consider special rules used in Open competition or 14 and Under competition.
  • No sanctions (team or individual) have been assessed unless noted.
  • The penalty area is not being used.
  • Requests for interruptions (time-outs, substitutions) or line-up checks have not been acknowledged (whistled) by the referees.
  • Exam questions cover USAV Casebook material.

1 / 50

1. It is legal for a server to start their serving action from the position shown in this picture.

Question Image

2 / 50

2. Immediately after receiving an improper request for substitution, the head coach for Team R requests the team's second time-out. The 2nd referee should allow the time-out request.

3 / 50

3. When a player is wearing a head covering as shown in this picture, the referees should request to see a waiver.

Question Image

4 / 50

4. While playing the ball, S4 touches the bottom tape of the net outside the antenna. The referees should whistle a net fault.

5 / 50

5. A special three-minute recovery time-out for an injury is only permitted when a player cannot be substituted legally or exceptionally.

6 / 50

6. Team B has been assessed both a delay warning and a delay penalty during the current set. If the coach requests an excessive team substitution, the referees should assess an improper request.

7 / 50

7. A Libero in the front zone jumps and attacks a ball that is partially lower than the top of the net, sending it across the net to the opponent’s court. The first referee whistles and indicates an illegal attack by the Libero.

8 / 50

8. During junior competition, the second referee asks both coaches to sign the score sheet at the end of the match.

9 / 50

9. The scorer ensures that the 'Exit Score' entered in the Service Rounds box is the total cumulative points of the serving team at the end of each term of service.

10 / 50

10. Team S’s Libero replaces a teammate after the first referee authorizes the serve, but prior to the service hit. This is the first time this action has occurred in the match. The correct Team S player then serves the ball. The first referee stops the rally and assesses a delay sanction to Team S.

11 / 50

11. In set 1, with no penalty points awarded, it is discovered that Team B #18 is on the court through an illegal substitution. After the officials determine when the illegal player first entered the court, all points scored by Team B from that point forward are removed.

12 / 50

12. While checking Team A’s line-up before the start of the set, the second referee notices that player #7 is listed as both the Libero and one of the six starting players. The second referee informs Team A’s coach that #7 must be a starting player, and another player must be designated as the Libero.

13 / 50

13. The second referee whistles and signals a penetration fault on player #15, the left front player for the team on the left.

Question Image

14 / 50

14. The referee informs the coach that after the line-ups are recorded on the score sheet, changes can still be made to the line-up until the completion of all warm-ups.

15 / 50

15. A delay warning is assessed to Team B during set 1. Later in the match, Team B makes an improper request. The referees deny the request, and assess Team B with a delay penalty.

16 / 50

16. The scorer slashes the number of the exiting player when recording a substitution on the score sheet.

17 / 50

17. The Team A Libero becomes injured on the court and cannot continue to play. The referees require Team A to re-designate a new Libero prior to the start of the next rally.

18 / 50

18. The Libero is making the team’s second contact. A front-row teammate attacks the ball while it is completely higher than the top of the net. The first referee whistles and signals an attack hit fault.

Question Image

19 / 50

19. R2 attacks the ball. During the follow-through, R2’s hand contacts the mesh in the middle of the net. The second referee whistles a net fault on R2.

20 / 50

20. Early in set 2 a player receives a verbal warning. Later in that set, the same player commits another minor misconduct that is unrelated to the first offense. The first referee may issue another verbal warning to the player if it is felt an individual sanction is not warranted.

21 / 50

21. R4 falls with both hands landing on the center line. R4’s fingers are clearly touching the opponent’s court. The second referee allows play to continue.

22 / 50

22. The Libero is making the first team contact while he left the floor from behind the attack line. The ball is next set by a teammate, and then attacked while the ball is completely above the top of the net. The referees allow play to continue.

Question Image

23 / 50

23. R6, who is near the net, contacts the ball while it is entirely higher than the top of the net and sets it toward a teammate. Before a teammate can contact the ball, the ball enters the plane of the net and is contacted by S3 who tips the ball out of bounds. The first referee indicates that Team R wins the rally.

24 / 50

24. When both teams have a substitute enter the substitution zone during the same dead ball, the second referee blows a separate whistle for each team’s substitution.

25 / 50

25. The second referee whistles and signals a net fault on #20.

Question Image

26 / 50

26. As pictured, Libero #5 is in the air having last touched the floor in the front zone. The ball is partially below the top of the net. The first referee should whistle for this fault because the Libero was in the front zone during the attack.

Question Image

27 / 50

27. A Libero legally serves. What is recorded on the score sheet?

28 / 50

28. The two Liberos for Team S are wearing shorts of different colors from the regular players. What action should the referees take?

29 / 50

29. The head coach for Team R approaches the substitution zone and asks the second referee for a line-up check. At the same time, the assistant coach walks to the sideline and loudly expresses disagreement with a ball handling decision made by the first referee. What is the correct action to be taken?

30 / 50

30. Which of the following contacts with the net is a fault?

31 / 50

31. As pictured, Player #10 is landing after playing the ball. Which option best describes the potential fault(s) being committed?

Question Image

32 / 50

32. Team S #15, the correct server, serves three points. After #15 contacts the ball for the fourth serve, a ball rolls on the court, resulting in a replay. #27 then mistakenly serves for Team S and scores two points before the scorer notices the wrong server. What action should the officiating team take?

33 / 50

33. At the end of a set, what is the proper way to cancel all remaining points in the Points column(s) for each team?

34 / 50

34. Which of the following service actions is legal for 15 years and older age groups?

35 / 50

35. Team A attacks a ball which lands near Team B’s sideline on the first referee’s side of the court. The line judge responsible for that line shows the “out” signal. The first referee is confident that the ball landed on the sideline. What is the correct action for the first referee?

36 / 50

36. At the end of a rally, Team B #12 replaces the Libero on the court. The assistant scorer immediately notifies the second referee that B #9, and not B #12, should have replaced the Libero. What is the correct action for the second referee?

37 / 50

37. After playing a ball near the net, a Team A player turns and moves away from the net to get into position for the next play. The player’s foot completely crosses the center line. What criteria should the second referee use to determine if a penetration fault occurred?

38 / 50

38. During Set 1, Team A is assessed an improper request. During Set 3, Team A requests a third time-out, but the request is not whistled by the referees.

39 / 50

39. During Set 1, Team S is assessed a delay warning for not returning to the court when directed to do so by the referees at the end of a time-out. At the start of Set 2, Team S submits their line-up late. What is the correct decision by the referees?

40 / 50

40. R3 runs to retrieve an errant pass near Team R's warm-up area. A substitute in the warm-up area interferes with R3's attempt to play the ball, and the ball falls to the floor.

41 / 50

41. After making a save on the ball near the net, S3 slides across the center line onto Team R's court. S3 does not make contact with any Team R player, but R4 must step around S3 in order to play the ball. What is the correct decision?

42 / 50

42. Team R's first pass sends the ball into a non-playing area. As R4 is attempting to retrieve the ball from the non-playing area, a spectator deflects the ball to avoid being hit by it. What is the correct decision?

43 / 50

43. The ball is entirely higher than the top of the net when S5 sets the ball from the front zone in the direction of S2. S2 attempts to hit the ball, but misses it. The ball goes over the net with no further contact by either team and lands on the floor of Team R’s court.

44 / 50

44. S6 makes the team’s first hit and passes the ball into the body of the net. R3 moves a hand laterally to deflect the natural rebound of the ball, and the ball then falls to the floor of Team S's court.

45 / 50

45. Team R’s first hit contacts a beam above the spectator seating area. The ball comes back toward the court where R5 sets it to R4, who attacks it onto Team S's court.

46 / 50

46. After the referee authorizes the serve but before the server contacts the ball, an errant ball rolls onto the court. The first referee whistles to prevent the serve. Before the first referee whistles to re-authorize the serve, Team R’s captain requests a substitution.

47 / 50

47. Team R’s setter jumps and sets a tight pass near the net. After the setter releases the ball, a Team S blocker reaches beyond the net in an attempt to block, and without touching the ball, makes contact with the Team R setter’s hands.

48 / 50

48. Team A was assessed a delay warning in set 1. Later in the match, a legal Team A substitution is completed just before Team B requests and is granted a time-out. At the conclusion of the time-out, a Team A player enters the substitution zone, and the second referee whistles to acknowledge the substitution request. The scorer informs the second referee that Team A completed a substitution just prior to the time-out.

49 / 50

49. While setting the second team contact to a teammate, S4 touches the bottom tape of the net outside the antenna. The teammate attacks the ball onto Team R’s court.

50 / 50

50. In set 1, the Team R coach is assessed a verbal warning for disagreeing with the first referee’s ball handling judgment. In set 2, the coach is assessed an individual penalty (red card) for yelling across the court at the first referee. In set 3, the Team R coach loudly yells across the court at the first referee about a net fault decision.

Your score is

0%