Lone Star Region logo 100x100

Lone Star Region Volleyball Referee Exam

USAV logo

Lone Star Region Volleyball Referee Exam

For the purpose of this test use the following information:

R = RECEIVING TEAM S = SERVING TEAM
R1 = RIGHT BACK S1 = RIGHT BACK
R2 = RIGHT FRONT S2 = RIGHT FRONT
R3 = CENTER FRONT S3 = CENTER FRONT
R4 = LEFT FRONT S4 = LEFT FRONT
R5 = LEFT BACK S5 = LEFT BACK
R6 = CENTER BACK S6 = CENTER BACK

 

For the purpose of this test use the following information:

R = RECEIVING TEAM S = SERVING TEAM
R1 = RIGHT BACK S1 = RIGHT BACK
R2 = RIGHT FRONT S2 = RIGHT FRONT
R3 = CENTER FRONT S3 = CENTER FRONT
R4 = LEFT FRONT S4 = LEFT FRONT
R5 = LEFT BACK S5 = LEFT BACK
R6 = CENTER BACK S6 = CENTER BACK

 

/50

2022-2023 USA VOLLEYBALL FORM A RULES EXAM

Exam Instructions and Information: Read each question thoroughly and answer each question on the attached answer sheet using current USA Volleyball Domestic Competition Regulations. “Team S” refers to the serving team, and “Team R” refers to the receiving team. When a team’s serve or receive status is not relevant to the question, “Team A” or “Team B” is used to differentiate the teams.
The following assumptions and information pertain to each question unless other conditions are specifically noted:

  • USAV clarification boxes take precedence over the corresponding FIVB rule and if applicable, should be used when considering each answer.
  • USAV test rules on illegal player on court is in effect.
  • Rule 10.1.2 (“Pursuit Rule”) is in effect.
  • Do not consider special rules used in Open competition or 14 and Under competition.
  • No sanctions (team or individual) have been assessed unless noted.
  • The penalty area is not being used.
  • Requests for interruptions (time-outs, substitutions) or line-up checks have not been acknowledged (whistled) by the referees.
  • Exam questions cover USAV Casebook material.

1 / 50

Category: Part I

1. As pictured, Libero #5 is in the air having last touched the floor in the front zone. The ball is partially below the top of the net. The first referee should whistle for this fault because the Libero was in the front zone during the attack.

Question Image

2 / 50

Category: Part I

2. After blocking the ball but before returning to the floor, a blocker contacts the body of the net. This net contact does not interfere with play. The referees allow play to continue.

3 / 50

Category: Part I

3. The second referee whistles and signals a net fault on #20.

Question Image

4 / 50

Category: Part I

4. When both teams have a substitute enter the substitution zone during the same dead ball, the second referee blows a separate whistle for each team’s substitution.

5 / 50

Category: Part I

5. R6, who is near the net, contacts the ball while it is entirely higher than the top of the net and sets it toward a teammate. Before a teammate can contact the ball, the ball enters the plane of the net and is contacted by S3 who tips the ball out of bounds. The first referee indicates that Team R wins the rally.

6 / 50

Category: Part I

6. The Libero is making the first team contact. The ball is next set by a teammate, and then attacked while the ball is completely above the top of the net. The referees allow play to continue.

Question Image

7 / 50

Category: Part I

7. R4 falls with both hands landing on the center line. R4’s fingers are clearly touching the opponent’s court. The second referee allows play to continue.

8 / 50

Category: Part I

8. Early in set 2 a player receives a verbal warning. Later in that set, the same player commits another minor misconduct that is unrelated to the first offense. The first referee may issue another verbal warning to the player if it is felt an individual sanction is not warranted.

9 / 50

Category: Part I

9. When the ball is contacted for service, the server is standing on (but not outside) the short line defining the side boundary of the service zone. The first referee whistles and indicates a line violation by the server.

10 / 50

Category: Part I

10. R2 attacks the ball. During the follow-through, R2’s hand contacts the mesh in the middle of the net. The second referee whistles a net fault on R2.

11 / 50

Category: Part I

11. During the interval between sets 1 and 2, two Team A players enter their court to warm up using a volleyball. The second referee informs the coach that players may not use volleyballs on the court between sets.

12 / 50

Category: Part I

12. The Libero is making the team’s second contact. A front-row teammate attacks the ball while it is completely higher than the top of the net. The first referee whistles and signals an attack hit fault.

Question Image

13 / 50

Category: Part I

13. The first referee whistles to stop the rally and assesses an individual penalty to Team S #4. Team R rotates in preparation to serve. A Team R player enters the substitution zone. The referees allow the substitution request because the rally is completed when the penalty point is awarded.

14 / 50

Category: Part I

14. The Team A Libero becomes injured on the court and cannot continue to play. The referees require Team A to re-designate a new Libero prior to the start of the next rally.

15 / 50

Category: Part I

15. The scorer slashes the number of the exiting player when recording a substitution on the score sheet.

16 / 50

Category: Part I

16. A delay warning is assessed to Team B during set 1. Later in the match, Team B makes an improper request. The referees deny the request, and assess Team B with a delay penalty.

17 / 50

Category: Part I

17. R4 jumps and reaches higher than the top of the net to block a served ball. R4 blocks the ball into the top of the net, but the ball remains on Team R’s side of the court. The referees allow play to continue.

18 / 50

Category: Part I

18. The referee informs the coach that after the line-ups are recorded on the score sheet, changes can still be made to the line-up until the completion of all warm-ups.

19 / 50

Category: Part I

19. The second referee whistles and signals a penetration fault on player #15, the left front player for the team on the left.

Question Image

20 / 50

Category: Part I

20. While checking Team A’s line-up before the start of the set, the second referee notices that player #7 is listed as both the Libero and one of the six starting players. The second referee informs Team A’s coach that #7 must be a starting player, and another player must be designated as the Libero.

21 / 50

Category: Part I

21. In set 1, with no penalty points awarded, it is discovered that Team B #18 is on the court through an illegal substitution. After the officials determine when the illegal player first entered the court, all points scored by Team B from that point forward are removed.

22 / 50

Category: Part I

22. Team S’s Libero replaces a teammate after the first referee authorizes the serve, but prior to the service hit. This is the first time this action has occurred in the match. The correct Team S player then serves the ball. The first referee stops the rally and assesses a delay sanction to Team S.

23 / 50

Category: Part I

23. The scorer ensures that the 'Exit Score' entered in the Service Rounds box is the total cumulative points of the serving team at the end of each term of service.

24 / 50

Category: Part I

24. During junior competition, the second referee asks both coaches to sign the score sheet at the end of the match.

25 / 50

Category: Part I

25. A Libero in the front zone jumps and attacks a ball that is partially lower than the top of the net, sending it across the net to the opponent’s court. The first referee whistles and indicates an illegal attack by the Libero.

26 / 50

Category: Part II

26. During set 2, Team R #9 enters the substitution zone, and the second referee whistles to acknowledge the request. The scorer notifies the second referee that R #9 was removed from set 1 by exceptional substitution. What is the correct action by the second referee?

27 / 50

Category: Part II

27. After playing a ball near the net, a Team A player turns and moves away from the net to get into position for the next play. The player’s foot completely crosses the center line. What criteria should the second referee use to determine if a penetration fault occurred?

28 / 50

Category: Part II

28. The setter in white is a back-row player. The ball is in the vertical plane of the net. Both players touch the ball simultaneously. Which option best describes the potential fault being committed?

29 / 50

Category: Part II

29. At the end of a rally, Team B #12 replaces the Libero on the court. The assistant scorer immediately notifies the second referee that B #9, and not B #12, should have replaced the Libero. What is the correct action for the second referee?

30 / 50

Category: Part II

30. Which of the following statements describe an ILLEGAL action involving the Libero?

31 / 50

Category: Part II

31. Team A attacks a ball which lands near Team B’s sideline on the first referee’s side of the court. The line judge responsible for that line shows the “out” signal. The first referee is confident that the ball landed on the sideline. What is the correct action for the first referee?

32 / 50

Category: Part II

32. Which of the following service actions is legal for 15 years and older age groups?

33 / 50

Category: Part II

33. At the end of a set, what is the proper way to cancel all remaining points in the Points column(s) for each team?

34 / 50

Category: Part II

34. Team S #15, the correct server, serves three points. After #15 contacts the ball for the fourth serve, a ball rolls on the court, resulting in a replay. #27 then mistakenly serves for Team S and scores two points before the scorer notices the wrong server. What action should the officiating team take?

35 / 50

Category: Part II

35. As pictured, Player #10 is landing after playing the ball. Which option best describes the potential fault(s) being committed?

Question Image

36 / 50

Category: Part II

36. Which of the following contacts with the net is a fault?

37 / 50

Category: Part II

37. The head coach for Team R approaches the substitution zone and asks the second referee for a line-up check. At the same time, the assistant coach walks to the sideline and loudly expresses disagreement with a ball handling decision made by the first referee. What is the correct action to be taken?

38 / 50

Category: Part II

38. The two Liberos for Team S are wearing shorts of different colors from the regular players. What action should the referees take?

39 / 50

Category: Part II

39. A Libero legally serves. What is recorded on the score sheet?

40 / 50

Category: Part III

40. In set 1, the Team R coach is assessed a verbal warning for disagreeing with the first referee’s ball handling judgment. In set 2, the coach is assessed an individual penalty (red card) for yelling across the court at the first referee. In set 3, the Team R coach loudly yells across the court at the first referee about a net fault decision.

41 / 50

Category: Part III

41. While setting the second team contact to a teammate, S4 touches the bottom tape of the net outside the antenna. The teammate attacks the ball onto Team R’s court.

42 / 50

Category: Part III

42. Team A was assessed a delay warning in set 1. Later in the match, a legal Team A substitution is completed just before Team B requests and is granted a time-out. At the conclusion of the time-out, a Team A player enters the substitution zone, and the second referee whistles to acknowledge the substitution request. The scorer informs the second referee that Team A completed a substitution just prior to the time-out.

43 / 50

Category: Part III

43. The ball is entirely higher than the top of the net when S5 sets the ball from the front zone in the direction of S2. S2 attempts to hit the ball, but misses it. The ball goes over the net with no further contact by either team and lands on the floor of Team R’s court.

44 / 50

Category: Part III

44. Team R #3 runs to retrieve an errant pass near Team R’s warm-up area. A substitute in the warm-up area interferes with #3’s attempt to play the ball and the ball falls to the floor.

45 / 50

Category: Part III

45. Team R’s setter jumps and sets a tight pass near the net. After the setter releases the ball, a Team S blocker reaches beyond the net in an attempt to block, and without touching the ball, makes contact with the Team R setter’s hands.

46 / 50

Category: Part III

46. After the referee authorizes the serve but before the server contacts the ball, an errant ball rolls onto the court. The first referee whistles to prevent the serve. Before the first referee whistles to re-authorize the serve, Team R’s captain requests a substitution.

47 / 50

Category: Part III

47. Team A shows up with part of the team in solid black shorts and part of the team in solid black sports pants. After warm-up, Team A takes the court without changing to another uniform bottom.

48 / 50

Category: Part III

48. Team R’s first hit contacts a beam above the spectator seating area. The ball comes back toward the court where R5 sets it to R4, who attacks it onto Team S's court.

49 / 50

Category: Part III

49. After contacting the ball, S2 grabs the net post to keep from falling. S2 then runs back onto the court and blocks a ball that is attacked by R3. The ball lands on the court on Team R's side of the net.

50 / 50

Category: Part III

50. S6 makes the team’s first hit and passes the ball into the body of the net. R3 moves a hand laterally to deflect the natural rebound of the ball, and the ball then falls to the floor of Team S's court.

Your score is

0%